Rating System

My rating system:

All reviews end with a number of stars out of five.  Here’s what these approximately mean:

1 out of 5 stars–This is insanely, infinitely bad.  Save yourself and stay away from it!

2 out of 5 stars–meh

3 out of 5 stars–Average.  I didn’t hate it and didn’t love it.  You might love it or hate it. Use your own discretion.

4 out of 5 stars–I really liked this a lot.

5 out of 5 stars-I LOVED THIS! There’s a big chance this was life-changing for me as well.

A note on the portions of star ratings over the years:

From 2009 to 2017 I reviewed every book I read. This makes the honesty of my reviews obvious, as the star ratings are spread out.

From 2017 to 2019, I experimented with doing monthly wrap-ups combined with some haiku reviews.

In 2020, I decided I missed the longer reviews focused on an individual book or series but I couldn’t maintain my commitment to reviewing every book I read. I therefore aim to review in longer form my favorite book I read each month, loosely, but sometimes I review more than that. This is why the star ratings skew higher.

In 2015, I also newly committed to allowing myself to “did not finish” or DNF a book. This permission to myself also skews the star ratings higher, as I do not review on this blog any book I did not finish, although they may be seen on my GoodReads dnf shelf, along with short explanations of why I didn’t finish.

Support me on Ko-fi

  1. April 28, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    P.S. Your rating system is brilliant!

    • April 29, 2010 at 8:07 am

      Aw, thank you! I’m so glad you like it.

  2. October 15, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    My request for a review is composed, saved to my drafts, and patiently waiting to be sent, as it eagerly anticipates the pending clock’s striking approval by howling midnight on December 1st, 2011.

    • October 17, 2011 at 9:10 am

      Haha! I hope it lives up to the antici…..pation. 😉

  3. March 1, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    Ha, it’s March 2012 now. Seems like a goot time to pitch (though – when I look at your “bottom of the pile” challenge I wonder how you can handle it. You must be reading like mad).
    Cheers and greetings from Switzerland

    • March 1, 2012 at 3:41 pm

      Oh hey thanks for that! I do need to update this page….

      March sneaked up on me!!

  4. March 2, 2016 at 4:31 am

    Hi! I had a look at the new submission form and there’s a tiny problem with it. Where you tell people to check “none of the above” on the list of genres you don’t review (if they don’t fall on that list anywhere), there isn’t actually a “none of the above” option. 🙂

    • March 2, 2016 at 9:52 am

      Thanks! It had had that option…I think Google ate it. It should be fixed now!

  5. March 3, 2016 at 5:15 am

    Thank you! 🙂

  6. September 19, 2020 at 4:49 pm

    Dear Amanda,
    I found your website through Publish-to-Death blogspot, and I love your straightforward writing style.
    I wonder if you would be interested in reviewing my novel, Celts and the Mad Goddess (89k words), which is getting published Oct. 1.
    Book One in a fantasy series, it tells the story of a young Celtic woman called Rawena, who falls into the claws of the rat-goddess Pandemia. The goddess schemes to annihilate humans to preserve other animal species. She lets Rawena live but turns her into a pawn in a mad game. Rawena fights to defy Pandemia while running from her own tribespeople who suddenly see her as their enemy.
    Thank you very much for your time and consideration.
    All the best.
    Peter (P.C. Darkcliff)

    • September 20, 2020 at 5:23 pm

      I’m afraid I’m not currently taking review requests. Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: